Welcome to the Suburban Branch Homepage!

2024 Award Winners:
Join us in congratulating our winners!

There are 5 Categories and we had a winner for each category:

  • Structures
  • Transportation
  • Environment
  • Historical Restoration / Preservation
  • Disaster or Emergency Construction / Repair

• Environment: Less Than $5 Million
Sugar Creek Restoration Project
Managing Agency: Elmhurst Park District and the Village of Villa Park
Consultant: Living Waters Consultant
Contractor: Semper Fi Land Services, Inc

• Environment: $5 Million to $25 Million
Central Avenue Reconstruction & Sewer Separation Improvement
Managing Agency: Village of Western Springs
Consultant: V3 Companies
Contractor: Berger Contractors

• Environment: $25 Million to $75 Million
North Side Interceptor Sewer
Managing Agency: Wheaton Sanitary District
Consultant: Baxter and Woodman, Inc
Contractor: Benchmark Construction

• Transportation: Less Than $5 Million
Patriot Boulevard at Costco Access Road Roundabout Improvement
Managing Agency: Village of Glenview
Consultant: Baxter and Woodman, Inc
Contractor: Chicagoland Paving Contractors, Inc

• Structures: Less Than $5 Million
Parking Garage Rehabilitation Program
Managing Agency: Village of Arlington Heights
Consultant: Walker Consultants
Contractor: Hammer Construction

• Disaster or Emergency Construction / Repair: Less Than $5 Million
American Lane Culvert Emergency Repair & Rehabilitation
Managing Agency: Village of Schaumburg
Consultant: Crawford, Murphy, & Tilly, Inc (CMT)
Contractor: Municipal & Contracting Sealing Products

• Historical Restoration / Preservation: Less Than $5 Million
Hidden Lakes Bridge Restoration and Rehabilitation
Managing Agency: Forest Preserve District of DuPage County
Consultant: Lochner
Contractor: Alliance Contractors Inc
Restoration: Bach Ornamental and Structural Steel, Inc

• Service Improvement Award
(This award is given to a community or department that has initiated a new community service or improved an existing service)
Traffic Data Collection
Managing Agency: Village of Arlington Heights

• Asset Management Award
(Recognize a team or organization for advancements in their Asset Management System)
Village of Arlington Heights
Managing Agency: Village of Arlington Heights

• Excellence in Education Award
(Recognizes outstanding achievements for work in delivering educational opportunities for all levels of individuals engaged in the delivery of public works services)
Community Education and Outreach
Managing Agency: Village of Arlington Heights

• Professional Manager of the Year: Public Rights of Way
(This award recognizes outstanding achievements in the area of public right of ways management within the public works field and to inspire excellence leadership and dedication to the public good)
Steve Mullany
Managing Agency: Village of Arlington Heights

• Samuel Greeley Award
(This award recognizes dedicated and continued service to a local public agency who has been employed for over 30 years by a local agency and a member of APWA for over 15 years)
Michael Nystrand
Managing Agency: Village of Northfield


2024 Suburban Branch Committee


President: Kent Johnson, City of Elmhurst

Vice President: Scott Rodseth, Michael Baker International

Treasurer: Ted Sianis, Village of Buffalo Grove

Secretary: Matt Cesario, BLA

Past President: Matt Moffitt, Baxter & Woodman

Committee Chairs:

Audit: Jeff Maczko, Village of Bensenville

Awards: Matt Cesario, BLA and Corey Van Dyke, Baxter & Woodman

Bylaws & History: Zach Matyja, RJN

Community Outreach: Alicia Cooley, ADS

Diversity: Adam Kucharski, Kimley-Horn

Education: Luke Foresman, Village of Mount Prospect

Brian Southey,  Village of Elk Grove Village

Golf Outing: Kent Johnson, City of Elmhurst and Tiffany Schmoker, Village of Arlington Heights

Governmental Affairs: Reid Magner, Bravo Company and Jill Hayes,  Benesch & Associates

Membership: Ron Raphael,  Village of Elk Grove Village

Nominating: Matt Moffitt, Baxter & Woodman

Public Relations: Kristin Kalitowski,  Civiltech

Networking: Ryan Rivard, City of Rolling Meadows

Scholarship: Matt Santeford, Transystems

Kyle Duffy, Transystems


Chapter Programs Liaison (PWX): Matt Moffitt, B&W

Chapter Programs Liaison (Expo): Bob Kolar, Ardmore Roderick

Chapter Programs Liaison (Roadeo): Bob Kolar, Ardmore Roderick

Chapter Programs Liaison (YP) : Dayvohn Braxton, Baxter & Woodman

Website: Dan Smith, Lake County DOT



BYLAWS – Suburban Branch

Suburban Branch Handbook

2024 Suburban Scholarship Application

Last Updated: May 14, 2024

Back to top